About CFS

The South Australian Country Fire Service (CFS) serves communities through dedicated volunteers delivering professional fire and rescue services to outer metropolitan, regional and rural South Australia.

The CFS is an all hazards agency responding to bushfire, building fire, road crash rescue and hazardous material spills.

We have strong representation throughout South Australia:

  • 13,500 volunteers, including cadets, who are committed to supporting their communities
  • 425 brigades operating across the State, and
  • a fleet of over 800 fire trucks.

Our Vision

A trusted and effective community based fire and emergency service.

Our Mission

An integrated and trusted fire and emergency service contributing to safer and more resilient communities.

Our structure

The CFS evolved from a long and complex partnership between volunteers, local government and the South Australian government to meet community safety needs for dealing with fires in rural areas.

In 1989, the State Government revised the Country Fires Act and Regulations. This enabled it to develop a standardised service that could respond quickly to emergencies across South Australia rather than individually run local services.

In the late 1990s, the State Government made further changes to ensure the CFS was properly equipped. It made major changes to funding for the CFS and combined the administration of the service with several other emergency services.

The State Government proclaimed the Fire and Emergency Services Act 2005 on 1 October 2005. This supersedes the Country Fires Act as the governing legislation for the SA Country Fire Service.

Today the CFS comprises over 428 rural fire brigades, about 13,500 volunteers and 144 staff to manage our day-to-day operations.

You can see more detail in our structural chart (PDF 30kb).

South Australian and Australian government legislation governs all emergency service organisations in South Australia.