Know your risk

Everyone has a role to play in planning for bushfires – fire authorities, landowners, land managers, local councils, and the community.

Bushfire Management Area Plans

The State Bushfire Coordination Committee (SBCC) is responsible for overseeing bushfire management planning in South Australia. The SBCC has divided the state into nine Bushfire Management Areas (BMAs), with a Bushfire Management Committee (BMC) for each area:

  • Adelaide and Mount Lofty Ranges
  • Fleurieu
  • Flinders Mid North and Yorke
  • Kangaroo Island
  • Limestone Coast
  • Lower Eyre Peninsula
  • Murray Mallee
  • Outback
  • Upper Eyre Peninsula

BMCs include representatives from fire, land, and emergency management agencies, as well as from other government agencies, primary producers, CFS volunteers and conservation groups.

Each committee assists with the identification of assets at risk of bushfire in an area and coordinates the development and implementation of Bushfire Management Area Plans (BMAPs), which outline actions required to manage the bushfire risks in an area; these may range from community engagement events to hazard reduction activities.

BMAPs also help individuals to better understand the bushfire risk in their community and undertake bushfire prevention actions to ensure their properties are prepared for a bushfire.

Bushfire Management Area Plans